What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram?[June 2021]

Ever imagined, What happens when you block someone on Instagram?, Your answer will be ‘No’. Instagram aims to market more virtual connections and social interaction — but that doesn’t necessarily mean everyone will always get along.

Now then, we all encounter users whom we might rather not wear our feeds. Whether it’s a boss who’s doing an excessive amount of checking in after work hours or an ex who keeps leaving passive-aggressive comments under your photos, you reserve the proper to regulate who’s a neighborhood of your virtual social circle, a bit like you are doing in the real world.

In this guide, we’ll cover everything you would like to understand about blocking (and unblocking) someone on Instagram so you’ll keep your feed drama-free.

Highlights:

Their comments and likes on your posts


neither you nor the blocked user can send the opposite person messages.


You cease to follow one another


Blocked users can’t mention or tag you


What happens once I block someone on Instagram?

  1. Their comments and likes on your posts

When you block someone on Instagram, what happens to their likes and comments on your content? If they liked or commented on your posts, these interactions will disappear permanently.

If, for a few reasons, you would like to delete someone’s like from your content, simply block and unblock the user.

Instagram deletes the likes and comments of blocked users permanently. this suggests that albeit you unblock them later, these interactions won’t return.

However, blocked users will view your comments and likes on the posts of other public accounts.

 

  1. Blocked users can’t mention or tag you

Users that you simply block will not be ready to mention you on posts. They also can’t tag you on posts that they publish on the platform.

If they plan to tag or mention you on content, they won’t find your username.

If you’re blocking the user for safety reasons, you’ll also consider changing your username. This way, unless they determine your new username, the blocked user won’t be ready to tag or mention you anywhere.

 

  1. After an Instagram block, what happens to direct messages?

Instagram doesn’t delete the direct messages of users that you simply block. Although the messages stay intact, neither you nor the blocked user can send the opposite person messages.

In the event that you simply unblock them later, you’d be ready to send one another messages. The messages you sent while blocked won’t be delivered to the opposite party.

Also, if both of your participants during a group, you’d need to choose whether you would like to go away the group or stay. If you decide for the latter, then you and therefore the user you blocked will see each other’s messages to the group. Also, the user you blocked can’t join an area that you simply create.

If you’re wondering what happens to your direct messages once you deactivate Instagram or once you block somebody, it’s a difficult question.

Nothing happens to the direct messages that you simply and therefore the user exchanged before you blocked them. Albeit you deactivate your Instagram account, the messages will still remain in their inbox.

However, if you deactivate your account, nobody (not only the blocked user) are going to be ready to DM you.

You practically haven’t any Instagram account, then when anyone taps your name, they’re going to reach a user not found page.

If you would like to interrupt communication with a user and also wish to deactivate your Instagram, then you don’t get to block them first – Simply deactivate your account.

 

  1. You cease to follow one another

When you block a user, you stop following them and Instagram also deletes them from your follower list. Before Instagram introduced the remove follower option, the sole thanks to stop someone from following you was to dam them (and unblock them after they’re gone).

Instagram’s blocking function is important to prevent stalkers and break contact with users. You now know what happens after you block someone on Instagram – the user loses all access to you.

The only way they will communicate with you is that if both of you within the same group.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. WHAT HAPPENS once you BLOCK SOMEONE ON INSTAGRAM MESSAGES (DM)

You may have noticed that the block option is out there in Direct Messages too. However, unlike Facebook where blocking on Messenger is different from that on Facebook, here it’s an equivalent block feature that might block the whole profile and not just messages.

2. IS BLOCKING ON INSTAGRAM STORY DIFFERENT

Well, you can’t block someone on the Instagram story. You’ll only mute or hide stories. Muting a story will hide the opposite person’s story from your profile and with the hide option; you’ll restrict your story from their view.

3. DOES BLOCKING ON INSTAGRAM ALSO BLOCK THE PERSON ON FACEBOOK

No. If your Instagram account is linked with Facebook (FB), blocking an individual on Instagram won’t have any impact on your relationship with them on Facebook.

4. WHEN YOU BLOCK SOMEONE FROM COMMENTING, CAN THEY SEE YOUR POSTS?

Yes. Blocking someone from commenting on your posts won’t block them from accessing your new or old posts, stories, and messages. Their old comments also will stay.

In case you don’t skill to dam someone from commenting on your posts, attend Instagram Settings > Privacy and Security > Comment Controls. Under Block Comments From, add the people that you don’t want to discuss your posts.

what happens when you blocked you oon instagram

5. DO YOUR FOLLOWERS KNOW THAT YOU BLOCKED SOMEONE?

No. Only you and the blocked person will hold this deep, dark secret unless they tell someone.

6. DOES INSTAGRAM NOTIFY PEOPLE WHEN YOU BLOCK THEM?

Nope. Instagram doesn’t send any kinds of notification of any sort to the blocked person.

7. DOES BLOCKING UNFOLLOW THE PERSON

Yes. Blocking an individual will automatically stop you from following them. It’ll also remove them from your followers. Just in case you unblock them later, you two will need to follow one another again.

8. HOW DO YOU KNOW IF SOMEONE BLOCKED YOU ON INSTAGRAM

There are some ways to spot that. First, open their profile via tags or comments and see if the profile shows post count without the posts. Secondly, just in case their previous messages disappeared from your inbox, but their profile still appears in group messages, then that would also indicate you’ve got been blocked. Lastly, the simplest thanks to knowing is to see from a special profile (either your own or your friends).

9. WHAT HAPPENS ONCE YOU UNBLOCK SOMEONE ON INSTAGRAM

As provided before, blocking someone removes you two from each other’s follower list. So once you unblock them, you’ll need to follow them again. Now, if it’s a public profile, you’ll be ready to see their posts and stories. For a personal profile, they’re going to need to accept your request first. You’ll then start liking and commenting on each other’s profiles again.

In the case of messages, the message thread thereupon person will reappear, and you’ll start texting them again. Both the past messages and therefore the new ones received during the block time (in case they sent one) also will show up.

10. HOW TO BLOCK OR UNBLOCK SOMEONE?

To block a profile, follow these steps:

Step 1: Open the profile that you simply want to dam.

Step 2: Tap the three-dot icon at the highest. From the pop-up menu, select Block.

what happens when you blocked you oon instagram

To unblock an individual, repeat the steps mentioned above and hit the Unblock option. Alternatively, if you aren’t ready to access their profile, attend your Instagram Settings > Privacy and Security > Blocked Accounts. Tap on the profile that you simply want to unblock. You’ll be taken to their profile. Hit Unblock.

How to know if someone blocked you on instagram

 

The Techypaw’s Line:

Now you recognize what happens after blocking an individual on Instagram. So consider before taking that significant step. you ought to try other methods of avoiding contact with them like muting their posts or messages, hiding your stories from them, restricting your stories to shut friends, or removing them from your followers.

Leave a Comment